check availability

Round Hill Celebrates Staff at Long Service Awards Ceremony

Recipients of the 2019 Long Service Staff Awards

Building on the culture of celebrating excellence, Round Hill Hotel and Villas recently hosted their bi- annual Long Service Awards Ceremony on Tuesday – November 19.

Hosted by Omar Robinson (General Manager) and Menseita Ottey (Reservations Manager), the well- attended event offered laughter and good cheer. The Hanover Terrace was transformed into an intimate setting with the perfect blend of sophistication and glamour,  and the 3- course meal prepared by Round Hill’s Award- winning culinary team was complimented by the melodious sounds of the “Jus Us 2 Band” and Ashley. 

The 78 awardees were treated to inspiring words courtesy of the evening’s guest speaker, The Honourable Edmund Bartlett, CD, MP – Minister of Tourism. Recognized as the world’s leading Tourism Minister, Bartlett  used the occasion to commend the service professionals for their outstanding personalized service. He expressed that their commitment to deliver memorable experiences has helped Round Hill remain one of the leading vacation getaway, and Jamaica one of the most competitive tourism destinations worldwide with record breaking arrivals and revenue. 

The Honourable Edmund Bartlett, CD, MP – Minister of Tourism, Jamaica during his address

Daniel McIntyre, who was this year’s only recipient of an award for over 45 years of service received a standing ovation. McIntyre, who was at a loss for words, has been a gardener at Cottage 1 during his tenure. 

(L-R) Managing Director, Round Hill – Josef Forstmayr, CHTA President – Patricia Alfonso- Dass, Long Service Awardee for 45 years of service – Daniel McIntyre, Minister of Tourism – The Honourable Edmund Bartlett, CD, MP and General Manager, Round Hill – Omar Robinson

The awardee’s response was delivered by Nelda Kerr of the Housekeeping department, who encouraged her fellow colleagues and attendees to continue to excel in all their endeavours. Kerr also received an award for over 40 years of service.

See below for the complete list of awardees: 

  List of Awardees

10 Years

Floyd Black
Keisha Darby- Hines
Shalloy England
Velta Ruddock- Wilson
Nathalie Saunders
Kenroy Watt

15 Years

Keturah Brown
Shaunette Bucknor
Aewan Campbell
Geddes Campbell
Andrew Clarke
Melvarine Clarke- Rowe
Jacqueline Dodd
Barbara Earle
Eugene Ellis
Joy Fagan
Marcel Finnikin
Alethea Gracie
Rodcliffe Gray
Mario Guthrie
Patricia Kerr
Carlton Jacobs
Dwayne Martin
Tannia Martin
Jodian McFarlene
Winnifred Moodie
Shawlene Paul
Mario Plowright
Angella Roach
Omar Robinson
Carren Russell
Greville Scarlette
Oneko Whyte
Sharon Whyte
Fritzroy Wood

20 Years

Desmond Alcock
Kerisha Fisher- Forbes
Irene Fray
Wayne Gardener
Althea Goombs- Sampson
Deinse Hines
Conrad Housen
Ian Lyttle
Angela Peterkin
Diane Prince
Delroy Riggion
Richard Nelson
Cassandra Smith

25 Years

Phillipine Adlam
Andrea Bernard
Cordella Bernard
Gersham Birch
Dawn Chambers- Kerr
Janet Clarke
Courtenay Clayton
Phillip Fyne
Mark Hawkins
Dwight Hylton
Donnette Johnson
Theresa Leslie
Angela Muir
Trevor Nedrick
David Norman
Hubert Suckoo
Diane Vickers

30 Years

Josef Forstmayr
Calvin James
Kingsley James
Joy Murry- Marston

35 Years

Steve Bailey
Dave Hamilton
Winsome Murray

40 Years

Eudell Evans
Marvin Kerr
Nelda Kerr
Ina Sharpe- McIntosh

45 Years

Daniel McIntyre